Monday 091111

Wednesday, November 9th, 2011

Having spent the last four weeks immersed in creative work, as ever I am overwhelmed by the possibilities of, to borrow MAdonna’s expression, of finding the means to “express yourself.”

My head is full of the music , sound bites, and images from the stuff that has been posted elsewhere in this blog in various versions.

I try to hold to the principle that less is more but the options and possibilities offered by the new technology flood in and you end up with the “I wonder what happens if I do this” syndrome and eventually end up a million light years way from what you thought you wanted to do assuming you knew in the first place.

While the number crunching was in process it occurred to me that I actually have achieved one thing ion this whole escapade. Chiefly, when I was a teenager I was fascinated by the talent of the composers of classical music who could sit and extemporise freely while at the same time producing beautiful music. Playing the piano without music. I knew people who cold do that. Michael Dyer, a school friend who sadly died at the age of 21, could play a full cathedral organ without manuscript and more, could conjure ethereal sound from his own head.What has this to do with my work currently? I have completed 3 or films while learning the software and that in itself is an amazing experience. In the process I felt as though I was making something without a script : and in this I am playing tribute to the software designers, their vision and skill in producing an experience that is at once both exiting and exhilarating.

(unfinished on the Monday: this written Tues in bed on the phone)

Post more later.

All video work can be accessed at :

https://fusr2.wordpress.com/category/youtube-videos/

Leave a Reply

